Winner Teddy Dunn being presented with the SE Quayle Cup by Brian Quayle

Write up by Keith Poole

A lot less wind than forecast but still a good test. The slower Tera Pro’s of Tom Watterson and Will Osborn were the first to start and both managed to complete a full lap of the course before the next starter, Ralph Kee, in his Laser. The Tera’s would prove hard to catch over the sixty minute race but one man, Teddy Dunn was revelling in the conditions and quickly took the lead of his starting group that included fellow Aero 7 sailor David Batchelor and the Finn of Jerry Colman.

By the end of the first lap Teddy had also overhauled Ralph who started two minutes earlier than him, as time went by the fleet started to come closer together as is the nature of a pursuit race and despite Young Will and Tom’s valiant efforts they were both overhauled by Teddy on lap five. Will was unlucky enough to be overtaken Ralph and Batch as the race came to a close but neither could catch Tom.

Final results were a commanding defence by last year’s winner Teddy Dunn, an excellent performance by Thomas Watterson to secure second and a remarkable recovery by Ralph Kee who early on sailed the wrong course, corrected this error and dropped to fifth at one point but finish third in the end.